# LAFAYETTE CENTRAL SCHOOL 5955 Route 20 West LaFayette, New York 13084

# BOARD OF EDUCATION REORGANIZATION MEETING July 12, 2011

### I. Roll Call

The Reorganizational Meeting of the LaFayette Board of Education was held on Tuesday, July 12, 2011, in the LaFayette School District Office. The meeting was called to order by District Clerk Hill at approximately 5:30 p.m. Present were Trustees Akl, Dadey, Dwyer, Keefe, LaCava, Scofeild and Sofranko. Also in attendance were Superintendent, Peter Tigh; and Kelly Hill, District Clerk. Also in attendance was Administrator Diane Ellsworth and District Treasurer Donna Meyers.

## II. Administration of Oath of Elected, Re-Elected Board Members and Superintendent

Ronda Akl, Michael LaCava and Patricia Sofranko were sworn in as Trustees, Donna Meyers was sworn in as Treasurer and Peter Tigh as Superintendent by District Clerk Hill.

District Treasurer Meyers departed the meeting at this time.

#### **III. Election of Officers**

A. President

Trustee LaCava nominated James Keefe as President. Trustee Scofield seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. James Keefe was voted in as President Yes -7 No -0 Abstain -0

District Clerk Hill swore James Keefe in as President of the Board of Education.

B. Vice President

Trustee Dadey nominated Ronda Akl as Vice-President. Trustee Dwyer seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. Ronda Akl was voted in as Vice-President Yes - 6 No - 1 (LaCava) Abstain - 0

District Clerk Hill swore Ronda Akl in as Vice-President of the Board of Education.

### IV. Appointment of Officers for School Year 2011-2012

On the recommendation of President Keefe, motion by Trustee Dadey, seconded by Trustee Sofranko to approve items below.

- A. Clerk of the Board Kelly Hill
- B. District Treasurer Donna Meyers
- C. Tax Collector Donna Meyers, LaFayette M&T Bank & Trust and/or successor Branch Manager
- D. Claims Auditor Kim Reppi
- E. Independent Auditor TBD
- F. Internal Auditor TBD

Motion Carried Yes - 7 No - 0 Abstain - 0

LaFayette Central School District Reorganization Meeting – July 12, 2011 Page 2

## V. Other Appointments for School Year 2009-2010

On the recommendation of President Keefe, motion by Vice President Akl, seconded by Trustee Scofield to approve items below.

- A. School Attorney Ferrara, Fiorenza, Larrison, Barrett, & Reitz
- B. Insurance Agent of Record Haylor, Freyer and Coon, Inc.
- C. School Physician Family Health Center of Tully Dr. Ahmad Mehdi
- D. Attendance Officers
  - 1. Grimshaw School Greg Bump
  - 2. LaFayette High School Paula Cowling
  - 3. Onondaga Nation School Diane Ellsworth
  - 4. Big Picture School Susan Osborn
- E. Purchasing Agent Dave Klem
- F. Payroll Certification Peter A. Tigh
- G. Records Officers:
  - 1. Records Access Officer Peter A. Tigh
  - 2. Records Management Officer Dave Klem
  - 3. Representative for Cooperative Worker's Compensation Board of Directors Dave Klem
  - 4. Representative for Cooperative Health Trust Board of Directors Dave Klem
- H. Extra Classroom Activity Accounts:
  - 1. LaFayette High School
    - a. Paula Cowling Treasurer
    - b. Tiana Poplawski Treasurer
  - 2. Onondaga Nation School
    - a. Diane Ellsworth Treasurer
    - b. Tiana Poplawski Treasurer
  - 3. C. Grant Grimshaw School
    - a. Greg Bump Treasurer
    - b. Donna Meyers Treasurer
- I. Official Bank Depository M & T Bank and Trust, LaFayette Branch, Citizens Bank School Employees of CNY Federal Credit Union, J P Morgan Chase
- J. School Newsletter Editor Rita Bush
- K. Official Newspaper Post Standard
- L. Equal Employment Opportunity Officer and Title IX Peter A. Tigh
- M. Title IV and Section 504 Compliance Officer Peter A. Tigh
- N. Asbestos Officer James Kesler
- O. Right to Know Officer Dave Klem
- P. Investment Officer Dave Klem
- R. Approval of Budget Transfers Peter A. Tigh
- S. Legislative Liaison Sarah Dadey and Carole Dwyer

T. CSE and CPSE Chairperson and Committee Members – 2011-2012 (continued):

CSE/CPSE Chairperson (all buildings) – Jennifer Blossey; CSE Chairperson (ONS) –Diane Ellsworth; CSE Chairperson (GS) –Greg Bump; CSE Chairperson (HS) – Jennifer Blossey

Special Education Teachers – Kristen Reardon, Kelly Szrama, Nicole Hutson, Teresa Miller, Diane Pratt, Marie Dow, Alison Bristol, Linda Callahan, Tom Turner, Greg Scott, Chris Baker and Lisa Jaskinski

School Psychologist – Provider-Michelle Storie, Tara Spicer; Interns: Laura Spenceley, Carly Honors

Parent Representative – Karen Ann Rosinsky

U. Other Appointments for School Year 2011-2012:

Related Service Providers – Speech: Marie Hayes, Lori Mucha, BOCES Provider-TBA

Occupational Therapist: Rosalie Bartolomeo

Physical Therapist: Cindy Bretschneider; PTA: Halina Gagne

Social Workers/Counselors - Ted Merante, Bob Risavi, Lorrie Tanner, Kristeen Cool, Bill O'Leary, Danielle O'Mara

- V. Regular Meeting Dates for Board of Education for 2011-2012
- W. Reorganizational Chart 2011-2012 Policy #4212
- W. Authorization for mileage reimbursement at IRS rate
- X. Application Approval Officer for Free and Reduced School Lunch Applications
  - Wendy Young LCS and OCS
  - Diane Ellsworth ONS
- Y. Authorization for Petty Cash:

<u>Location</u>		<u>Amount</u>	<u>Department</u>	C <u>ustodian</u>
1.	LaFayette High School	\$ 50.00	School Lunch	Susan Craig
2.	Grimshaw School	\$ 20.00	School Lunch	Diana Marks
3.	Onondaga Nation School	\$ 15.00	School Lunch	Betsy Tarbell
4.	Onondaga High School	\$ 35.00	School Lunch	Pamela Dauler
5.	Wheeler Middle School	\$ 15.00	School Lunch	Bonnie Clothier
6.	Rockwell Elementary School	\$ 10.00	School Lunch	Denise Felicia
7.	School Lunch Program	\$ 50.00	School Lunch	Wendy Young
8.	District Office	\$100.00	District Office	Kim Reppi
9.	Grimshaw School	\$100.00	Main Office	Greg Bump
10.	LaFayette JrSr. High School	\$100.00	Main Office	Paula Cowling
11.	Transportation Department	\$ 50.00	Trans. Office	Daniel Sawkins
	Onondaga Nation School Big Picture School	\$100.00 \$100.00	Main Office Main Office	Diane Ellsworth Susan Osborn

- Z. Bonded Personnel for School Year 2011-2012
  - 1. Treasurer \$1,000,000
  - 2. Tax Collector \$1,000,000
  - 3. Extraclassroom Activity Treasurer at High School \$100,000
  - 4. Claims Auditor/Deputy Treasurer \$1,000,000
  - 5. Blanket Bond \$100,000 per employee

LaFayette Central School District Reorganization Meeting – July 12, 2011 Page 4

- AA. Other Annual Appointments (continued):
  - 1. Coordinator of Athletics Jeremiah Kelly
  - 2. After School Coordinator ONS Mackenzie McElhannon
  - 3. District Head Nurse Paula Bush
  - 4. District Chemical Hygiene Officer Michael Picciotti
  - 5. District Webmaster Karen Grimm
  - 6. 10-month Substitute Teacher Coordinator Kelly Hill, Patsy McElhannon, TBD @ ONS
  - 7. Director of Guidance Bill O'Leary

Motion Carried Yes - 7 No - 0 Abstain - 0

## VI. Other Items

On the recommendation of President Keefe, motion by Trustee Sofranko, seconded by Trustee Dadey to approve items below.

- A. Reaffirmation of Policy on Affirmative Action
- B. Authorization of LaFayette Central School Board Member attendance at State and National Conventions, including expenses, within budget for School Year 2011-2012
- C. Authorization of LaFayette Central School Board of Education membership with Board of Education review in:
  - 1. New York State School Boards Association
  - 2. Rural Schools Program
  - 3. Onondaga-Madison School Boards Association
  - 4. CNY School Study Council/School Boards Institute

Motion Carried Yes - 7 No - 0 Abstain - 0

#### VI. Adjournment

Motion by Trustee Trustee Dadey, seconded by Trustee LaCava to adjourn the meeting at approximately 6:03 p.m.

Motion carried Yes -7 No - 0 Abstain - 0

Respectfully submitted,

Kelly A. Hill District Clerk